Together We Wood

For the second part of my two-part tutorial, here is how I make a Celtic Knot in my pen blanks using my new jig.

1. Pen Blank (Curly Eucalyptus from woodturningz.com)
2. Walnut veneer (planed down to thickness of saw kerf)
3. Alumium Foil
4. 1 min epoxy
5. Celtic Knot Jig (See previous tutorial)

Step 1
I first made a cut with my table saw into a scrap piece of wood. This will determine my veneer thickness.
S1

Step 2
I planed down some scrap pieces of walnut until it fit snug in my slot.
S2

Step 3
I then took the pen tubes out of the bag and laid them out on my pen blank. I want to get an idea of where this Celtic Knot will be placed. Since my blank is so long, I am not too worried about the knot placement.
S3

Step 4
I marked a…

View original post 517 more words

